Points of Interest
Arts Center East is home to a rich artistic community. We are a place where visual artists from across the state – and beyond! – exhibit and sell their work through juried exhibits and members exhibits. Unique handmade creations of pottery, jewelry, wood crafts, and other gifts made by local and regional artisans fill our artisan craft fairs. Musical and theatrical performances delight audiences of all ages, and our classrooms hum with he joy of artistic creation and growth. We are the hart of the arts east of the river.
The Belding Wildlife Management Area is a 282-acre parcel of land in Vernon that was donated by Maxwell Belding to the State of Connecticut. A 1981 Memorandum of Understanding identifies the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection as the steward of the land and instructs the agency to use modern wildlife, forestry, and conservation practices to maintain and improve the land.
The War Memorial Tower on Fox Hill is a structure located at the summit of Fox Hill in Rockville, Connecticut. It stands in Henry Park and is a memorial to all Vernon and Rockville veterans. (more)
Each summer Vernon celebrates our nation's birth with July in the Sky, which consists of family-friendly events at Henry Park and in Downtown Rockville. The evening culminates with a spectacular fireworks show fired from Fox Hill Tower in Henry Park. This 2022 July in the Sky is July 12. The rain date is July 13.
The New England Civil War Museum & Research Center, is a subsidiary of Alden Skinner Camp #45, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, and a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization. It is an all volunteer organization led by an executive director and staffed by museum docents. Museum direction, development and strategy are overseen by a board of directors, which consists of the officers of Alden Skinner Camp.
The museum and research center reside on the second floor of the historic Memorial Hall and holds many artifacts related to the Civil War period with an emphasis on those who served from the state of Connecticut. It was originally initiated by the Civil War veterans in Burpee Post #71 as early as 1896. They used the rooms as a meeting and social place between 1890-1934. The veterans sought "to perpetuate the memory of its dead for all time" and encouraged members of the post to donate their personal wartime relics to the building up of a museum.
The museum, though small in size, has the honor and distinction of being the only surviving GAR Hall in Connecticut and one of the longest continuously used GAR Halls in the entire country.
For more information about the museum, please visit: https://www.newenglandcivilwarmuseum.com/
For a 3D video tour of the museum, click here.
The Vernon Cemetery Department and Vernon Historical Society have teamed up to create a walking tour of Vernon's Grove Hill Cemetery, a resting place for the captains of Rockville industry and the men and who worked in the mills. You will find several familiar names. Click here for additional information about the tour.
A variety of houses of worship call Vernon home. For a list, click here.
Vernon's Rails to Trails network is a popular and well-maintained destination for everyone from casual walkers and cyclists in spring, summer and fall, to snowshoers and cross country skiers in winter. The trail is maintained by the Vernon Parks and Recreation Department and the Vernon Greenways Volunteers, a group that epitomizes Vernon's reputation as a community of volunteers. The Vernon portion of the Hop River State Park Trail is a 5.1-mile section of trail along the former Hartford, Providence and Fishkill Railroad, from the Manchester/Vernon line to the Bolton/Vernon line. The Hop River State Park Trail totals 20.2 miles and extends from Manchester through Vernon, Bolton, Coventry, Andover and Columbia.
Strong Family Farm, established in 1878, is located in the center of Vernon and is the last historical farm in operation in town.
Today the farm is run by a nonprofit and focuses on helping people experience farm life through activities and programs. It also participates in local education programs and has a farm store featuring Connecticut Grown products.
Talcottville is an exceptionally well-preserved example of a nineteenth century factory village. The district encompasses the site of an early cotton-spinning factory and is associated with John Warburton and Peter Dobson, pioneers of the cotton manufacturing industry in Connecticut. For more information, please click here.
The Talcottville Ravine is just below the Dobsonville Dam, adjacent to Dobsonville Road. The Ravine is the site of Peter Dobson's first mill and is probably the most scenic and unique feature of the Tankerhoosen River. Formerly known at the Talcottville Gorge, the 20 acre property was recently donated to the Northern Connecticut Land Trust by the Talcott family. The area is also within Talcottville Historic District.
The Tankerhoosen is a website that features information about the Tankerhoosen Valley, local history and activities. and
Valley Falls Farm is seven scenic acres of open pasture that provides beautiful vistas for artists and photographers. In 2005 Valley Falls Farm was designated a “Local Historic Property” by the Historic Commission of the Town of Vernon.
Located on the corner of Bolton Road and Valley Falls Road in Vernon, Valley Falls Farm includes a historic 1850s farmhouse and six farm outbuildings. The property is owned by the Friends of Valley Falls, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization whose mission is “Responsible stewardship of the Valley Falls Farm and Valley Falls Park.”
To save Valley Falls Farm from developers, the Friends purchased the seven acres, farmhouse and outbuildings in 2001 with a state grant, a $100,000 grant from the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving, Town of Vernon funding, and local contributions.
Valley Falls Park is owned by the Town of Vernon and is located across from Valley Falls Farm. The Friends work in partnership with the Town to improve and retain the park’s beauty and protect its natural habitats.
Visit the Friends of Valley Falls website to learn more about Valley Falls, its rich history and how you can join the Friends.
For a 3d video tour of Valley Falls Farm, click here.
Valley Falls Park is a popular outdoor recreation site and nature preserve. The public area offers hiking, swimming, fishing, a Braille trail, picnic sites and cold weather activities on its 196 acres. It is owned by the Town of Vernon and managed by the Vernon Parks and Recreation Department. The park is on on Valley Falls Road, across from Valley Falls Farm.
The Vernon Historical Society is a volunteer operated, non-profit organization dedicated to creating interest in local history. Its museum building serves as a repository for a variety of collected materials that are available to the general public for research.
These collections aid historians, genealogists, and interested citizens in research, and provide source materials for exhibits, publications and programs. During Museum hours, volunteers are present to answer questions and provide access to collected materials.
The foundation seeks to improve the quality of life for residents of all ages in Vernon.
The Rockville section of Vernon is home to a significant number of Victorian homes that date from the days of Rockville being a center of the textile industry. Several of the mills are still standing and have been converted for use as housing. A walking tour of Vernon's Victorians can be found here.
The historic Main Street Bridge carries Vernon's Main Street across the Tankerhoosen River. The bridge is being rebuilt and you can view details of the project here.
Former Amberbelle Mill Demolition
Bridging the River
Volunteers Construct a Suspension Bridge Designed By Vernon's Town Engineer to cross the Hockanum River, connecting the Vernon and Ellington sections of the Hockanum River Linear Park Trail.