Top Bar

Mobile Menu Trigger

Vernon, a celebrated place to live, work and visit. 

Building Department

55 WEST MAIN STREET, VERNON, CT 06066
Tel: (860) 870-3633   Fax: (860) 870-3589

building@vernon-ct.gov

Notices

 

STARTING JULY 5, 2022, OUR OFFICE HOURS HAVE CHANGED TO THE FOLLOWING:

 DAY  OFFICE HOURS
 Monday  8:00am - 4:30pm
 Tuesday  8:00am - 4:30pm
 Wednesday  8:00am - 4:30pm
 Thursday  8:00am - 7:00pm
 Friday  CLOSED

 

IMPORTANT: All issued permits, inspection results, and communications with applicants will be through email.  Please check your Spam and Junk folders to verify email communications from our office have not been mistakenly placed there.


The State of Connecticut Building Code requires permits be obtained and inspections of the work performed for anyone who intends to construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish or change the occupancy of a building or structure.

Apply For a Permit (HERE)

The Building and Zoning Department is responsible for the enforcement of the Connecticut Building Code, Town Zoning Regulations and other Town Ordinances to ensure public safety, health and welfare.  The Building Official, Assistant Building Official, and Zoning Enforcement Officer perform all areas of review, inspection, and enforcement including: 

  • Reviewing building plans for residential and commercial development 
  • Issuing permits, Certificates of Compliance, and Certificates of Use and Occupancy
  • Performing inspections for new and existing construction 
  • Answering code and administrative questions
  • Responding to emergency scenes such as fires and building failures
  • Issuing violation letters, orders and citations

Ultimately, it is the property owner’s responsibility to ensure that all permits have been issued and inspections passed for any work on their property.  It is advised that when purchasing a home, or any other property, you check with the Town to verify all permits were obtained and inspections were approved.  Otherwise, you may assume liability for the work that was not permitted or inspected.  Please give the building department a call at (860) 870-3633, if you have any questions, we are here to help you.

Department Staff:
 
NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
 Steven Prattson  Building Official  860-870-3651     steveprattson@vernon-ct.gov
 Valerie Muszynski   Building Inspector   860-870-3648  vmuszynski@vernon-ct.gov 
 Michael Roman  Building Inspector   860-870-3648  mroman@vernon-ct.gov
 Andrew Marchese  Property Maintenance & Enforcement   860-870-3636  amarchese@vernon-ct.gov
 Debra Sterling  Building Department Specialist & AZT  860-870-3647  dsterling@vernon-ct.gov
 Matilda Hayes  Building & Fire Marshal Administrative Assistant   860-870-3655  mhayes@vernon-ct.gov
 Marisa Soto  Planning & Zoning Administrative Assistant  860-870-3633  msoto@vernon-ct.gov

 

Online Permitting

Helpful Information